Skip to main content

Data Visualisation

Everything at a glance: Dashboards and reporting for decision makers

In what direction should innovation be driven? What gaps in the market are most lucrative? Which products will ensure our success over the next few years? Business Intelligence (BI) reporting and analytics tools can find the answers to such questions and also form the basis for creating quarterly and annual reports. They continuously provide management with relevant decision-making information – in particular, ad hoc evaluations that help support important, time-sensitive business issues.

By using BI tools, important data and parameters, for example, can be summarised and used for effective business reporting. Dashboards can be built so that key metrics are always visible and available, while trend comparisons highlight important developments that management can use for a variety of purposes.

Using a graphical and interactive user interface, Pentaho Dashboards provide business users with the required key performance indicators for analysing and increasing company performance. Reports can be created using the web-based Dashboard Designer, which also supports drag and drop management.

Sophisticated and visually appealing Dashboards can also be realised using Pentaho CTools. Using free form design layouts, individual customer requirements can be quickly and easily realised. Dashboards, ad hoc queries and OLAP (Online Analytical Processing) are common descriptive analytics tools.

In the past, many companies have invested considerable sums of money in these traditional forms of Business Intelligence. But between 2014 and 2015 there was a noticeable change in the use of analytics: Development in the direction of Predictive Analytics (What is going to happen?) and Prescriptive Analytics (What must we do to ensure that a certain thing happens?) significantly gained traction with companies.

Self-Service Reporting

Self-service BI is a concept that has been spreading throughout the Business Intelligence industry since 2010. In a nutshell, it is an IT environment where users are able to undertake analyses and create reports on their own, completely independent of the IT department. Because independently processing and interpreting data can save time, the self-service principle is particularly useful when users regularly make decisions and need to react quickly.

For anyone who wants to use corporate information properly, this data must be displayed in an easily accessible manner. And a good way of doing this is by using Dashboards. The technology used to create and manage Dashboards and reports is based on the community tool CTools, a collection of open source-based tools for data processing.

Five rules for dashboards

  1. Dashboard contents should be immediately comprehensible at a glance
  2. High information density should always we ensured
  3. Data should be visualised in an easily readable form
  4. Comparative data should be presented in understandable diagrams
  5. Dashboards should be uniformly maintained by using standardised elements

Develop and distribute reports

Finding hidden costs, analysing markets, creating business reports: To be able to carry out analyses and reporting functions, companies need Business Intelligence. Pentaho provides different reporting functions that range from interactive, self-service reports to formatted standard reports. Pentaho Interactive Reporting also provides users with a web-based, drag-and-drop interface so they can create ad hoc reports. Using the Pentaho Report Designer, high-resolution reports can be implemented and distributed in a variety of formats to recipients throughout the company.

Dashboards provide a centralised view of important information

Managers and decision makers expect quick and intuitive access to business-critical information so that they can focus on really important issues and make business-critical decisions faster. Using Business Intelligence tools (BI tools), graphical data views – Dashboards – can be created that enable users to instantly see relationships, trends and outliers at a glance. Dashboards pull together company information from a variety of data sources and provide graphical and tabular data analyses with a high degree of density. This, in turn, allows users to process ad hoc queries on the company's current economic situation. it-novum supports customers in optimising standard reporting systems (e.g. in accordance with International Business Communication Standards (IBCS)), which ensures consistent visualisations.

Using the Pentaho Dashboard Designer, users can create and manage their own Dashboards. This allows the viewer to be quickly and intuitively informed about any given situation. System functionality varies depending on the version of Pentaho being used. Those using the Enterprise Edition have the ability to independently put together cockpits in an interface using the Dashboard Designer.

Your benefits with Pentaho Dashboards

Reports and Dashboards can be used on mobile devices

Ad hoc reporting using innovative web interfaces

Reduction in manual effort required for reporting

Dashboards show central KPIs at a glance

Knowledge gains through linked information from different sources

Customised, automated company-wide information distribution

User interfaces for designing reports require no previous IT knowledge

Reporting and analysis applications – what we can do for you

We can set up your system so that you can immediately begin working with BI software. We excel in providing customised reporting solutions. You continue working, as normal, within a web-based environment while your data analyses run on an OLAP cube in the background. The results are then immediately available in a prepared form – either as a report or via a Dashboard.

Further information

Skip to main content

Data Visualisation

Alles auf einem Blick: Reporting und Dashboards für Entscheider

In welche Richtungen sollen Innovationen getrieben werden? Welche Marktlücken sind lukrativ? Welche Produkte sichern unser Überleben in den nächsten Jahren? Business-Intelligence-Werkzeuge für Analytics und Reporting finden Antworten auf solche Fragen und bilden die Basis für das Erstellen von Geschäfts- und Quartalsberichten. Sie versorgen Management und Geschäftsführung kontinuierlich mit entscheidungsrelevanten Informationen - und unterstützen sie ad hoc bei wichtigen Unternehmensfragen.

Die Tools erlauben es beispielsweise, wichtige Daten und Parameter zusammenzufassen, um sie zur Erstellung von Geschäftsberichten zu nutzen. Dashboards können aufgebaut werden, um die zentralen Unternehmens-Kennzahlen immer im Auge zu behalten. Und Trendvergleiche weisen auf wichtige Entwicklungen hin, die die Geschäftsführung für sich nutzen kann.

Pentaho Dashboards bieten Geschäftsanwendern mithilfe einer grafischen, interaktiven Benutzeroberfläche die erforderlichen Leistungskennzahlen zur Analyse und Steigerung der Unternehmens-Performance. Unterstützt wird die Berichterstellung durch den webbasierten Dashboard-Designer mit einer Drag- und Drop-Steuerung für den Anwender.

Anspruchsvollste und optisch höchst ansprechende Dashboards lassen sich darüber hinaus mit den CTools in Pentaho realisieren. Durch eine freie Gestaltung des Layouts können individuelle Kundenanforderungen schnell und einfach umgesetzt werden. Dashboards, Ad-Hoc-Anfragen und OLAP (Online Analytical Processing) sind Werkzeuge von Descriptive Analytics. Viele Firmen investierten in der Vergangenheit in dieses traditionelle BI Milliarden Euro. Zwischen 2014 und 2015 ist jedoch ein Wechsel der Analytics Nutzung festzustellen: die Entwicklung in Richtung Predictive Analytics (Was wird passieren?) und Prescriptive Analytics (Wie muss gehandelt werden, damit ein zukünftiges Ereignis eintritt?) schreitet bei den Unternehmen stark voran.

Self-Service-Reportings

Self-Service BI ist ein Begriff, der sich seit 2010 in der BI-Branche ausbreitet. Gemeint ist die Bereitstellung einer IT-Umgebung, mit der Anwender eigenständig und unabhängig von der IT-Abteilung in der Lage sind, Analysen vorzunehmen und Reports zu erstellen. Weil sich durch eigenständiges Aufbereiten und Interpretieren der Daten Zeit einsparen lässt, bietet sich das Prinzip der Selbstbedienung insbesondere an, wenn Anwender schnell reagieren und regelmäßig Entscheidungen treffen müssen.

Wer seine Unternehmensinformationen richtig nutzen möchte, muss sie so einfach wie möglich darstellen. Eine gute Möglichkeit dafür sind Dashboards. Die eingesetzte Technik zum Erzeugen und Verwalten von Dashboards beziehungsweise Berichten basiert auf dem Community-Tool (CTools), einer Sammlung von Open Source-basierten Werkzeugen für die Aufbereitung von Daten. 

Fünf Regeln für Dashboards

  1. Inhalt eines Dashboards sollte auf einen Blick verständlich sein
  2. Hohe Informationsdichte im Dashboard anstreben
  3. Daten in einer einfach lesbaren Form darstellen
  4. Vergleichsdaten in verständlichen Diagrammen darstellen
  5. Dashboards durch standardisierte Elemente einheitlich Aussehen lassen

Berichte entwickeln und verteilen

Versteckte Kosten finden, Märkte analysieren, Geschäftsberichte erstellen: Für Analyse und Reporting brauchen Unternehmen Business Intelligence (BI). Pentaho bietet unterschiedliche Funktionen im Bereich Reporting, die von interaktiven Self-Service-Berichten bis zu formatierten Standardberichten reichen. Anwendern bietet das Pentaho Interactive Reporting eine webbasierte Drag-and-Drop-Oberfläche zum Erstellen von Ad-hoc-Berichten. Mit dem Pentaho Report Designer können dagegen pixelgenaue Berichte aufgesetzt und in unterschiedlichen Formaten an die Empfänger im Unternehmen verteilt werden.

Dashboards bieten einen zentralen Blick auf wichtige Informationen

Manager und Entscheider erwarten einen schnellen und intuitiven Zugriff auf geschäftsrelevante Informationen, um sich auf die wirklich wichtigen Themen zu konzentrieren und richtungsweisende Entscheidungen schneller zu treffen. Mit Business Intelligence-Tools (BI-Tools) lassen sich grafische Ansichten auf Daten – sogenannte Dashboards – erstellen, die Zusammenhänge, Trends oder Ausreißer auf einen Blick sichtbar machen. Dashboards führen Unternehmensinformationen aus verschiedenen Datenquellen zusammen, bieten grafische und tabellarische Datenauswertungen mit hohem Verdichtungsgrad; außerdem ermöglichen sie Ad hoc-Anfragen zur aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Situation. it-novum unterstützt seine Kunden bei der Optimierung eines standardkonformen Berichtswesens, beispielsweise nach International Business Communication Standards (IBCS®) Vorgaben. Damit werden einheitliche Visualisierungen sichergestellt.

Mit dem Pentaho Dashboard Designer erstellen und verwalten Anwender eigene Dashboards. Damit soll der Betrachter intuitiv und schnell über einen bestimmten Sachverhalt informiert werden. Je nach genutzter Pentaho-Edition variiert der Funktionsumfang. Anwender der Enterprise Edition haben mit dem Dashboard Designer die Möglichkeit, Cockpits eigenständig in einer Oberfläche zusammenzustellen.

Ihr Nutzen bei Pentaho Dashboards

Maßgeschneiderte, automatisierte Informationsverteilung im Unternehmen

Wissensgewinn durch verknüpfte Informationen aus unterschiedlichen Quellen

Reduktion des manuellen Aufwands für die Berichtserstellung

Ad hoc-Berichtserstellung durch innovative Weboberflächen

Dashboards zeigen zentrale KPIs auf einen Blick

Nutzung der Reports und Dashboards auf mobilen Endgeräten

Benutzeroberflächen für die Berichtgestaltung ohne IT-Kenntnisse

Weiterführende Informationen

  • CTools | Community Dashboard Editor (CDE). Einführung in die Dashboard-Komponente der Pentaho Ctools
  • 5 Dashboards-Tipps

Unsere Leistung: Reporting- und Analyse-Anwendungen

Wir richten Ihr System so ein, dass Sie sofort mit der BI-Software arbeiten können. Unsere Stärke sind maßgeschneiderte Reporting-Lösungen. Sie arbeiten wie gewohnt innerhalb einer Webumgebung, die Datenanalyse läuft auf dem im Hintergrund liegenden OLAP-Würfel. Die Ergebnisse werden sofort in aufbereiteter Form – Report oder Dashboard – ausgegeben.

it-novum GmbH Deutschland

Hauptsitz: Edelzeller Straße 44, 36043 Fulda

Niederlassung: Siemensdamm 50, 13629 Berlin

Niederlassung: Ruhrallee 9, 44139 Dortmund

 

info@it-novum.com

+49 661 103 - 322

+49 661 103 - 597

it-novum Niederlassung Österreich

Office Park 7 / Top 802

1300 Wien-Flughafen

 

 

info@it-novum.at

+43 1 227 87 - 139

+43 1 227 87 - 200