Skip to main content

IT Service Management

Integrated Service Management from it-novum

Combining the seamless interoperability of the open-source software tools i-doit, openITCOCKPIT, OTRS, JDisc and Pentaho, users can take advantage of cross-departmental benefits and interactions they would otherwise miss. With a comprehensive service management solution from it-novum, you can document your IT systems in i-doit, manage your processes and workflows via OTRS, monitor your business services with openITCOCKPIT and create system-wide management reports with Pentaho.

CMDB and monitoring

All information about both active and passive IT components is stored in a CMDB. Active components such as servers, switches and storage systems have an IP address and can therefore monitored. Passive components such as patch panels, racks and buildings are not relevant to a monitoring system and so are not included. The most interesting active components for monitoring are stored in the CMDB along with their corresponding information regarding manufacturers, operating systems and installed applications. This information can also be picked up and imported into the CMDB as part of an automatic discovery.

When data is imported into the monitoring system, the it-novum ITSM Suite is already fully aware of the applicable checks and carries these out automatically. Once a system has been entered into the CMDB, it is automatically included in the monitoring process. And in order to make this process ITIL compliant, the monitoring system is precluded from setting up new hosts. This, by default, makes the CMDB the lead system.

openITCOCKPIT / i-doit Connector: Monitoring meets IT documentation

Using its own, in-house developed interface, it-novum brings together i-doit and the openITCOCKPIT monitoring system, giving users the ability to leverage the advantages of both systems. After the user has added all relevant assets to the i-doit database, all applicable objects can then be exported. Templates for carrying out checks are automatically assigned by the interface as part of the installed software recognition process. The i-doit group assignment function for CIs (configuration items) can then be used to manage the selected import of these items via profiles. This greatly assists the it-novum openITCOCKPIT / i-doit connector in building up a monitoring system.

Ticketing and monitoring

As soon as an IT service is disrupted, a ticket is created in the ticketing system. Upstream event correlation prevents the explosive growth of inconsequential tickets by using rule-based event filters. As a result, only essential information is forwarded to the ticketing system. When a member of the support team updates a ticket, this work is confirmed in the monitoring system and notifications are disabled. At the same time, the corresponding ticket number is stored in the monitoring system. When this is clicked, the entry in the ticketing system is opened, with the information from the CMDB directly displayed in the ticketing system.

Ticketing and the CMDB

To ensure that issues and outages are processed quickly, all relevant information must immediately be available for review. Having a well-integrated ITSM system gives you the necessary link between tickets and their corresponding assets in the CMDB, ensuring contingency plans can be quickly understood and applied.

A ticketing system is used in addition to incident and problem management and change management. Any changes to the IT infrastructure must be requested and approved in accordance with ITIL. And of course, being able to link change management tickets to their corresponding assets is a given. Users get a quick introduction to the software via a star-shaped navigation menu covering the most important information: From within the ticketing system they can also access trend graphs for the monitored services and all documented information for restoring services.

The i-doit / OTRS Connector: Service management and IT documentation combined

Using the i-doit / OTRS Connector, it-novum makes it possible to connect OTRS and i-doit so that for the user, these appear to operate as one system. And by combining these two solutions, many internal processes can be simplified. For example, configuration items (assets / inventories), service level agreements and service information can be synchronised from i-doit to OTRS. This means OTRS agents can respond more quickly to outages because they have a clear view of the affected devices or locations thanks to this bi-directional link. With just a single mouse click it is possible for OTRS agents to see whether business services are affected by a given outage.

Management reports on all ITSM components

Each ITSM component has the ability to produce its own reports. These analyses, however, only refer to their individual data ranges. An over-arching analysis of all data can be achieved by connecting the Pentaho business analytics platform to your CMDB, monitoring and ticketing systems. Pentaho gives users and admins the power to draw together and correlate data from these different systems and clearly present this in the form of reports and easy-to-understand dashboards. For example, trend forecasts, future plans and the processing of data for handouts are all now possible.

Customer-specific optimisation

The flexible architecture of it-novum's integrated IT service management solution means adjustments can be made to the system without the need for programming or any intervention in the kernel of the open source tools used. Thus, seamless system maintainability is assured – particularly with regard to updates and new releases of the underlying open-source tools.

Your advantages

The ITSM Suite from it-novum offers functionality usually found only in high-priced commercial products – and this includes professional all-round support and consulting:

  1. Get started more quickly using a sophisticated service management solution
  2. Save money without compromising on functionality
  3. Avoid duplicate maintenance work by using an integrated solution
  4. Open interfaces and easy expandability
  5. System data correlation for analysis and reporting
  6. Quality visualisation of analysis data for management
  7. Single point of contact for all tools and their interfaces

Read more

Skip to main content

IT Service Management

Integriertes Service Management von it-novum

Mit der nahtlosen Verbindung der Open Source Softwaretools i-doit, openITCOCKPIT, OTRS, jdisc und Pentaho können Anwender abteilungsübergreifend von den Vorteilen dieses Zusammenspiels profitieren. Dokumentieren Sie ihre IT in i-doit, managen Sie ihre Prozesse und Workflows über OTRS, überwachen Sie mit openITCOCKPIT ihre Business Services und lassen Sie sich mit Pentaho systemübergreifende Managementreports erstellen.

CMDB und Monitoring

In einer CMDB sind alle Informationen zu aktiven und passiven IT-Komponenten gespeichert. Aktive Komponenten wie Server, Switche und Storage Systeme besitzen eine IP und sind demnach überwachbar. Die passiven Komponenten wie Patch Panels, Racks und Gebäude sind für ein Monitoring-System nicht relevant und werden daher nicht berücksichtigt. Die für das Monitoring interessanten aktiven Komponenten werden in der CMDB mit Angaben zu Hersteller, Betriebssystem und Anwendungen gespeichert und können auch durch ein automatisches Discovery erkannt und in die CMDB importiert werden.

Bei einem Import der Daten in das Monitoring-System kennt die ITSM Suite von it-novum bereits alle anwendbaren Checks und rollt sie automatisch aus. Sobald ein System in der CMDB eingetragen wurde, befindet es sich automatisch in der Überwachung. Um diesen Prozess ITIL-konform zu gestalten, wird dem Monitoring-System die Möglichkeit genommen, einen neuen Host manuell anzulegen. Die CMDB ist damit das führende System.

openITCOCKPIT / i-doit Connector: Monitoring verbindet sich mit IT-Dokumentation

i-doit und das Monitoring-Tool openITCOCKPIT verbindet it-novum über eine eigene Schnittstelle. Nachdem alle relevanten Assets in einer i-doit Datenbank aufgenommen wurden, lassen sich die relevanten Objekte einfach exportieren. Checkvorlagen werden über die Schnittstelle automatisch durch das Erkennen der installierten Software zugewiesen. Die Gruppenzuordnung von CIs (Configuration Items) in i-doit kann genutzt werden um über Profile einen selektierten Import dieser CIs zu steuern. Damit erleichtert der it-novum openITCOCKPIT / i-doit Connector den Aufbau eines Monitoring-Systems enorm.

Monitoring und Ticketing

Sobald ein IT-Service gestört ist, wird ein Ticket in einem Ticketsystem erstellt. Durch eine vorgeschaltete Eventkorrelation wird das explosionsartige Anwachsen von unwichtigen Tickets durch einen regelbasierten Ereignisfilter verhindert. Dadurch werden nur die wesentlichen Informationen an das Ticketsystem weitergeleitet. Bearbeitet ein Support-Mitarbeiter ein Ticket, wird der Service im Monitoring bestätigt und die Benachrichtigung deaktiviert. Gleichzeitig wird im Monitoring die entsprechende Ticketnummer hinterlegt, die über einen Klick zum Ticketsystem führt. Zudem werden die Informationen aus der CMDB direkt im Ticketing angezeigt.

Ticketing und CMDB

Um eine schnelle Bearbeitung von Störungen und Problemen zu gewährleisten, müssen alle relevanten Informationen sofort zur Verfügung stehen. Integriertes ITSM übernimmt dabei die Verknüpfung der Tickets mit den entsprechenden Assets aus der CMDB. Notfallpläne können so schnell eingesehen und angewendet werden.

Ein Ticketsystem wird neben dem Incident- und Problemmanagement auch für das Change Management verwendet. Alle Änderungen an der IT-Infrastruktur müssen nach ITIL beantragt und freigegeben werden. Eine Verknüpfung von Change Management Tickets zu den entsprechenden Assets liegt auf der Hand. Eine schnelle Einleitung der Problemlösung erhalten Anwender durch eine sternförmige Navigation zu den wichtigsten Informationen: Vom Ticketsystem aus erreichen sie die Trendgraphen der überwachten Services und alle dokumentierten Informationen für die Wiederherstellung des Services.

i-doit/OTRS Connector: Service Management verbindet sich mit IT-Dokumentation

it-novum macht es mittels des i-doit/OTRS Connectors möglich OTRS mit i-doit zu einem System zu verbinden. Durch die Verknüpfung der zwei Lösungen lassen sich viele interne Prozesse vereinfachen, z. B. können Configuration Items (Assets/Inventare) von i-doit nach OTRS synchronisiert werden. OTRS-Agenten reagieren schneller auf Störungen, weil sie durch die bidirektionale Verknüpfung über eine klare Sicht auf die betroffenen Geräte oder Lokationen verfügen. Zudem ist es für die OTRS-Agenten möglich mit einem Klick zu sehen ob ggf. Business Services durch die Störung betroffen sind.

Reports über das gesamte Service Management

Jede ITSM-Komponente bietet eine eigene Möglichkeit für Reports. Aber diese Auswertungen beziehen sich nur auf den jeweils eigenen Datenbestand. Eine übergreifende Auswertung aller Datenbestände bietet unsere Anbindung der Business Analytics Plattform Pentaho an die CMDB, das Monitoring und das Ticketsystem. Sie ermöglicht es die Daten der Systeme zusammen zu führen, zu korrelieren und übersichtlich in Reports und Dashboards zu visualisieren. Dadurch sind z.B. Trendvorhersagen und Zukunftsplanungen sowie die Aufarbeitung der Daten für Handouts möglich.

Customizing nach Kundenwunsch

Die flexible Architektur des integrierten IT Service Managements von it-novum ermöglicht Anpassungen ohne Programmierung und Eingriff in die Kernels der Open Source-Werkzeuge. Dadurch wird eine problemlose Wartbarkeit sichergestellt – insbesondere  bei Updates und Release-Wechseln der zugrundeliegenden Open Source Tools.

Ihre Vorteile

Die ITSM Suite von it-novum bietet einen Funktionsumfang, der sonst nur bei hochpreisigen kommerziellen Produkten zu finden ist - und dies verbunden mit einem professionellen Rundum-Support und Consulting:

  1. Schneller Einstieg in eine durchdachte Service Management-Lösung
  2. Kosteneinsparungen, ohne auf Funktionalitäten zu verzichten
  3. Vermeidung von doppeltem Pflegeaufwand durch eine integrierte Lösung
  4. Offene Schnittstellen und einfache Erweiterbarkeit
  5. Datenkorrelation der Systeme zur Analyse und zum Reporting
  6. Hochwertige Visualisierung der Analysedaten für das Management
  7. Zentraler Ansprechpartner für alle Tools und deren Schnittstellen

Weitere Informationen

 

Unser gesamtes ITSM Team ist ITIL zertifiziert!

it-novum GmbH Deutschland

Hauptsitz: Edelzeller Straße 44, 36043 Fulda

Niederlassung: Siemensdamm 50, 13629 Berlin

Niederlassung: Ruhrallee 9, 44139 Dortmund

 

info@it-novum.com

+49 661 103 - 322

+49 661 103 - 597

it-novum Niederlassung Österreich

Office Park 7 / Top B02

1300 Wien-Flughafen

 

 

info@it-novum.at

+43 1 227 87 - 139

+43 1 227 87 - 200