Skip to main content

i-doit / OTRS Connector

Good service and incident management requires that information is available as quickly as possible. So in the event of an incident, it is important to know which configuration item (CI) is affected. In the i-doit configuration management database (CMDB), CIs are captured and maintained. By using the it-novum i-doit/OTRS connector, it is possible to automatically provide the service desk with the relevant information they need to tackle any problems or issues.

 

The i-doit / OTRS connector supports all OTRS versions:

  • OTRS Business Solution™
  • OTRS Business Solution™ Managed
  • OTRS Free

Sysadmins appreciate in particular i-doit’s intuitive operation and the possibility of visualizing the CMDB. Contract running times can be maintained and trigger notifications. A simple maintenance of emergency handbooks is possible in i-doit. With JDisc even an automated inventory can be integrated. The i-doit/ OTRS connector allows the use of CMDB information from i-doit as a component in ITIL-compliant IT service management with OTRS.
 
A mapping is used to determine within the connector’s configuration which information from i-doit is relevant for the service desk and in which classes/ attributes they should be stored in the CMDB of OTRS. Only updated values are transferred. This results in a very low web traffic after the initial set-up. Each update is documented in the history of OTRS.
 
The mapping from i-doit items to specific classes in the OTRS CMDB provides multitenancy capabilities. Multiple instances of i-doit may be connected to one centralized OTRS.
 
The service agent in OTRS has read-only access to CIs synchronized from i-doit. The agent can search, browse and link CIs to incidents, RfCs or changes. In the CI view, inversely linked tickets, changes or FAQ entries are displayed: at a glance all processes to a CI can thus be viewed.

To further process or resolve a ticket, the helpdesk staff can refer to the CI information in OTRS.

Should the information in OTRS prove to be insufficient, with just a click a member of the helpdesk team can access the CI's details in i-doit (orange link in screenshot above).

An easy-to-use wizard is also available to help with configuring the interface. This wizard walks the user through each step of the information gathering process and when completed, even starts the synchronisation of the chosen objects.

The actual communication takes place via a web service in OTRS that speaks the i-doit API. The user can also configure how often synchronisation should take place.

Skip to main content

i-doit / OTRS Connector

Ein gutes Service- und Incident Management setzt voraus, dass Informationen möglichst schnell zur Verfügung stehen. So ist es im Falle eines Incidents wichtig zu wissen, welches Configuration Item (CI) betroffen ist. In der Configuration Management Database (CMDB) i-doit werden CIs erfasst und gepflegt. Mit Hilfe des von it-novum entwickelten Connectors ist es möglich, im Ticketsystem OTRS automatisiert relevante Informationen für den Servicedesk bereitzustellen.

 

Der i-doit/OTRS Connector kann in allen OTRS Versionen eingesetzt werden:

  • OTRS Business Solution™
  • OTRS Business Solution™ Managed
  • OTRS Free

Administratoren schätzen an i-doit insbesondere die intuitive Bedienung und Möglichkeit der Visualisierung der CMDB. Vertragslaufzeiten können gepflegt werden und lösen Benachrichtigungen aus. Mit JDisc kann sogar eine automatisierte Inventarisierung eingebunden werden. Der i-doit / OTRS Connector ermöglicht die Verwendung von CMDB Informationen aus i-doit als Komponente im ITIL-konformen IT Service Management mit OTRS.
 
Über ein Mapping wird in der Konfiguration des Connectors festgelegt welche Informationen aus i-doit für den Service Desk relevant sind und in welche Klassen/Attributen diese in der CMDB von OTRS gespeichert werden. Es werden nur aktualisierte Werte übertragen. Somit entsteht - nach der initialen Einrichtung -  ein nur sehr geringer Webtraffic. Jede Aktualisierung wird in der History von OTRS revisionssicher dokumentiert.
 
Das Mappen aus i-doit auf dedizierte OTRS Klassen bedeutet auch, das eine Mandantenfähigkeit gegeben ist. Mehrere i-doit Instanzen können an ein zentrales OTRS angebunden werden.
 
Dem Service Agent in OTRS stehen die CIs aus i-doit lesend zur Verfügung: Verknüpfungen beispielsweise zu Incidents, RfCs oder Changes sind möglich. In der CI Ansicht werden umgekehrt verknüpfte Tickets, Changes oder FAQ-Einträge angezeigt: Auf einen Blick sind somit alle Vorgänge zu einem CI ersichtlich.

Für die weitere Bearbeitung bzw. Problemlösung kann der Helpdesk-Mitarbeiter auf die CI-Informationen in OTRS zugreifen.

Sollten die Informationen aus OTRS nicht ausreichen, gelangt der Mitarbeiter mit einem Klick  auf die Detailseite in i-doit (orangefarbener Link im oberen Screenshot).

Bei der Konfiguration der Schnittstelle hilft ein leicht zu bedienender Wizard, der Schritt für Schritt alle benötigten Informationen abfragt und am Ende die Synchronisation der Objekte startet.

Die eigentliche Kommunikation erfolgt über einen Webservice in OTRS, der die API von i-doit anspricht. Der Anwender kann konfigurieren, in welchen Abständen eine Synchronisation durchgeführt werden soll.

Webinar: Next Step | Integrierte IT Service Management Prozesse

Sie möchten den i-doit / OTRS Connector kaufen? Bitte schreiben Sie uns

 

Unser gesamtes ITSM Team ist ITIL zertifiziert!

it-novum GmbH Deutschland

Hauptsitz: Edelzeller Straße 44, 36043 Fulda

Niederlassung: Siemensdamm 50, 13629 Berlin

Niederlassung: Ruhrallee 9, 44139 Dortmund

 

info@it-novum.com

+49 661 103 - 322

+49 661 103 - 597

it-novum Niederlassung Österreich

Office Park 7 / Top B02

1300 Wien-Flughafen

 

 

info@it-novum.at

+43 1 227 87 - 139

+43 1 227 87 - 200